April Floos

I got back to Fayetteville tonight at 9:00, and went right to bed. An hour later I got up because I was freezing and achy. I took a bath, which I couldn’t get hot enough, and now I’m drinking hot tea. At first Dempster refused to join me. He was like, “No way man, I’m in bed already.” But then he decided to take the opportunity to eat copious amounts of dog food, and now he’s happily chewing on the leg of my pants because I’m too exhausted to care. Which just reminded me that I shouldn’t let my issues cause him to be badly behaved. So I redirected him to a toy, which in this case was the blanket but good enough.

I’ve never had severe allergies, but the last few years I’ve had a little. I think that’s what this is. I’ve been having sneezing attacks and watery eyes off and on, and then it kicked into high gear when I went on a long walk at my parents’ Friday. Stuff is blooming down there that probably isn’t up here yet, since we’re farther north and in the mountains. My mom’s had it too. But wow – I’ve never had allergies that feel this much like the flu! I have every flu symptom except possibly fever, which I don’t know about because I don’t have a thermometer. I’m on the fence about going to work tomorrow. My advisor is on maternity leave, and I gave one of my students approval to go to the autism symposium at the university, because her work offered to pay for it. Plus I plan to miss a day for my birthday trip. I guess we’ll see if anything develops in the morning.

I’m on the fence between watching an episode of The West Wing and trying to go to bed. My left ear is stopped up, so I probably couldn’t hear it anyway. Plus my laptop is still in my backpack from this weekend, and who has the energy for that? So I’ll probably just play a little 2048 (I know that game is totally 3 years ago, but I’m awesome at it and I find it relaxing without being too addicting).

We had a great weekend. Among other things, Dempster turned 7 months. I should probably go stop him from chewing whatever he’s eating right now. This phase can feel free to end any time now.