Daily Archives: April 24, 2018

Dog Parks and Old People

I had a cool experience at a dog park in Kansas City tonight. We’ve been to three dog parks in three different states today. Dempster has been great, but was starting to get a little fussy; so I decided to try to find one last park, even though it was getting dark. I found one in Kansas City but as we got closer I wasn’t sure about the area. So I was glad to see an older woman in the park. It was the biggest dog park I’ve seen – she said about 5 acres – and also one of the coolest. She was amazed to hear that I was driving all the way back to Arkansas tonight, and that I didn’t have anyone else with me. So she said she would lead me back to the interstate after we walked around the perimeter of the park. Old people like to do things like that, so I let her. I had told her I was glad to see someone at the park, because I wasn’t sure if it would be safe. She said to go straight to the interstate. I followed her to the interstate, flashed my lights to say thanks, and then took the next exit to get gas and use the bathroom. It was a random encounter that made our evening a little bit more enjoyable.

Winding Down

The only good thing about dropping Kristen off at the airport is now I can make the car as warm as I want. Dempster and I are currently at a dog park in Sioux Falls. It’s a little drizzly, but having a tired puppy for the ten hour drive home will be worth it. It was 33 with bitter wind this morning, so we’ll gladly take 50!

I Finally Gave In…

…and let Kristen drive. I don’t like not being the driver. I’m a good driver. I’ve logged more miles than most people three times my age, and experience matters when it comes to driving. And my puppy is in the car. But after four full days of non-stop action, I’m beat. I can’t sleep when other people are driving though. I wake up in a panic. So I’m listening to Sherlock Holmes and trying not to be miserable on this drizzly, freezing day. I’m actually missing being at the clinic. This is our last week with the kids.

Might as well post some of my favorite pictures from the trip.