Daily Archives: April 27, 2018

I’m Officially Old

I was the first one to escape upstairs at the women’s retreat. I mean, it was almost 10. Except only 8:57 in my time zone. I also volunteered when they asked for people to shower tonight, so I could take a bath and not be rushed. “Have fun, Grandma,” Becky said as I left the room. “Take some warm milk with you.” These jerks.

I think overall my introvert panic when I first get places is getting better. I’d met some ladies at the winery for dinner (I was wineless), so I was primed for socialization. But then I walked in the big room and almost walked back out. I said a few hi’s (including to one lady who always tells me to tell my grandmother hello…every time I just stare blankly until she realizes she means my first cousin once removed, Margaret). Then my face wouldn’t do hi’s anymore, so I grabbed a couple of people to sneak out and eat some tiny slices of birthday cake with me. We were back in time to leave again. It was perfect.

I’m in a room with two other people, which is pretty much only okay here. Cuz these are my people.