Daily Archives: November 11, 2013

Two VERY Happy Americans and Some Bible Stuff

Today was our day off, so Matt and I ventured to the UK Emporium (which I previously referred to as “the American store” – close enough), about 25 minutes away.

On the way we discussed whether they would be likely to have Reese’s cups and Matt said he didn’t remember seeing them when he was there before. Our main goal was Dr. Pepper. Anything else would be a bonus.

This little store is hidden away on the bottom level of a parking garage. As I stopped to take a picture of the sign, I saw something wonderful in the background.

IMG_4602

“Look!” I said, before we were even inside. “On the back wall!”

We entered, observing a moment of silence as we approached the peanutybutterychocolatey goodness.

Finally, Matt spoke. “It’s a Christmas miracle!”

Ten minutes later we checked out. Our combined holdings: 7 packages of Reese’s cups (3 per package), one bag of Reese’s pieces (mine), a 6-pack each of Dr. Pepper plus two cold ones for the car, two cans of fruit filling (black currant – whatever that is – and cherry, for a dessert I want to make), and a container of Cadbury’s chocolate sauce, for a Reese’s cup replica I’m planning to attempt (though it’s less necessary now).

The grand total was 465.30 R ($46) – by far my most expensive purchase so far in Africa. As we left I told the lady at the counter, “You have made us very happy.” She didn’t seem to understand how serious I was – what with her unlimited access to the store room (which we peeked into) full of American and British goodies.

On the way out I remarked that if we got mugged, they could have my credit card and iPhone, but I would put up a fight for the Reese’s and Dr. Pepper.

After this we sat in the car in the parking garage, where Matt devoured a whole package of cups before I had managed to open my Reese’s pieces. “I feel like a heroin addict,” he said, as he licked the wrapper (I told him to, but still).

Then something horrible happened. “I dropped one!” I exclaimed, looking down at the orange chunk of happiness laying at my feet.

“Five second rule,” Matt reminded me.

I wasn’t sure that applied in this car, which has perpetually soggy, filthy carpet because of the standing water that accumulates every time it rains.

I popped it in anyway. “I just ate malaria,” I told him. It was totally worth it.

As soon as we got home I made my FB thankfulness post for the day: “WE FOUND DR. PEPPER AND REESE’S PEANUT BUTTER CUPS!!!! Sorry, that was obnoxious. But we did. And that’s what I’m thankful for today.”

IMG_4603

Apparently Matt and I are now the possessors both of desired items and valuable information. Sonya commented on my FB status, saying, “So many questions…” I told her I’d share a Reese’s cup with her, and she replied, “That reminds me of an old saying that goes something like: give a girl a peanut-butter cup and she’ll eat for a day, tell the girl where the peanut-butter cup store is and she’ll never go hungry again.”

I think we’re going to milk this one for a while. (That was not a very bad attempt at a pun. There’s just no other way to say it.) 

Acts

I’ve been reading the book of Acts as part of my daily Bible readings. It hit me that I’ve never truly appreciated that book. It has all the elements of a great adventure story – bad guys turned good guys, bad guys staying good guys, shipwrecks, snake bites, tongues of fire, courtroom drama, treachery, unbelievable courage, and – of course – the token Ethiopian eunuch. Pretty cool stuff.

I think the daily Bible reading plan is a great idea. I’ve only done it consistently for the past two years. Before that I just kinda read here and there, when I felt like it – or I’d make it to about March and quit. Once I started doing the reading plan consistently it was systematic and gave me an overall familiarity with the scriptures that I never had before. I love the idea that so many Christadelphians use the same reading plan. It makes me feel in sync. But the disadvantage, of course, is never quite getting deep into one subject. It’s easy to check the readings off and go on with your life.

The book of Acts is a great example of missing the congruity of the story by dividing it up and reading it over the course of a month. So I decided today to find a good, modern version (not The Message) and just read it as an adventure story, straight through. Kinda like Swiss Family Robinson (which I read for the first time on my Kindle a while back and loved).

Why did I never do this before?

Some of my favorite parts:

Peter healing the disabled guy. Peter’s one of my favorite Bible people. I think that was the first miracle he did – probably the biggest adrenaline rush ever.

I also like this part: Suddenly an angel of the Lord appeared and a light shone in the cell. He struck Peter on the side and woke him up. “Quick, get up!” he said, and the chains fell off Peter’s wrists.

I just find it pretty funny that the angel whacked him on the side and shouted at him.

Also, this whole thing: For as I passed by, and beheld your devotions, I found an altar with this inscription, To The Unknown God. Whom therefore ye ignorantly worship, him declare I unto you. God that made the world and all things therein, seeing that he is Lord of heaven and earth, dwelleth not in temples made with hands; Neither is worshipped with men’s hands, as though he needed any thing, seeing he giveth to all life, and breath, and all things; And hath made of one blood all nations of men for to dwell on all the face of the earth, and hath determined the times before appointed, and the bounds of their habitation; That they should seek the Lord, if haply they might feel after him, and find him, though he be not far from every one of us. 

And this: Then spake the Lord to Paul in the night by a vision, Be not afraid, but speak, and hold not thy peace: For I am with thee, and no man shall set on thee to hurt thee: for I have much people in this city.

One more: When we heard this, we and the people there pleaded with Paul not to go up to Jerusalem. Then Paul answered, “Why are you weeping and breaking my heart? I am ready not only to be bound, but also to die in Jerusalem for the name of the Lord Jesus.” When he would not be dissuaded, we gave up and said, “The Lord’s will be done.”

So much better than The Godfather.

In Other News

I’ve got to get this whole being a pedestrian in Africa thing down. I’ve never had a moment’s confusion while driving on the “wrong” side of the road. In fact, I think despite only driving 1-2 times a week, I’m shaping up to be a very competent stick-shifter. It’s half art/half science and I find great satisfaction every time I transition from 1st to 5th (with the necessary steps in between) with nary a jolt – it doesn’t happen often, but when it does it’s beautiful.

But for some reason I get totally discombobulated when I’m jogging, trying to remember which way traffic flows so I can run opposite it. I had my first (very) near miss today when I jumped back at the last second after stepping out in front of a car that was on the “wrong” side. I’ve slightly changed my philosophy now – cars are bigger than me and are therefore always on the “right” side.

Thankfully I wasn’t chewing gum at the same time.

On a positive note, nothing makes me feel quite so hardcore as running in the rain. Plus now I feel better about the Reese’s and Dr. Pepper I’ve waited all day for and am about to devour.

Image