Badlands Are Go!

The Badlands in South Dakota are arguably my favorite place in the US. My favorite state is Utah, but my favorite one place is (are?) the Badlands. I’ve been twice. And I plan to go again for my birthday.

I have a friend in Orlando with whom I’ve gone on a few random road trips. Last year we went to the Everglades (also on my birthday, but just by coincidence). I was planning to do this trip by myself, but I decided to throw out a random invite. (Sometimes I hope people won’t accept those, but this wasn’t one of those.)

So in less than 12 hours today, we’ve basically planned the entire trip. She’s going to fly into Kansas City and out of Sioux Falls, and I’m going to pick her up and drop her off on the way. I discovered I have just over the amount of credit card points to get us four hotel nights free (plus a $40 dog fee). The things we want to do (state and national parks, and a couple of other things) will cost exactly $51 each, and when you factor in hotel breakfasts, picnic lunches, and dinners out, I’m estimating the whole trip will cost less than $350-400. (I love figuring out how to travel cheaply.)

I’m super excited. We leave three weeks from today. I’m waiting to hear from my advisor if she’s cool with me taking that Tuesday off (I’d be surprised if it isn’t). If not, we’ll have two travel days and two full days there; otherwise we’ll have three. I’ve got our itinerary mostly ready, Dempster is training to chase bison, and I can’t wait.

Here are a few (low quality) pictures from my last two trips – one in 2013 on the way to my cousin Daniel’s wedding in California, and the other in 2006 with my mom. (Thankfully FB albums remember the details better than I do.)