Early

I’ve been getting to work way early lately, because it’s stinking cold and I want a closer spot. So today I’m allowing myself the luxury of sitting in my warm car and taking a few minutes to chill with nothing to do but drink coffee.

My students, on the other hand, are getting later and later. They’re supposed to be there by 8:45 (I’m there at 8:30 or earlier) and the kids come at 9:00. Theoretically I’d like to have a 2-3 minute prep discussion each day, but usually 5 out of 7 of them come in at 9:50 or later. Yesterday I gently said, “I think if I were to graph arrival times, we’d be on a deteriorating trend.” They laughed and said they’d be earlier. We’ll see. They’re awesome, generally speaking – so I haven’t made it a big deal.

Last night in statistics I was bored (because for once I already knew how to do the stuff she was teaching about), so I did this:


I’m a little obsessed with my new scheduling technique. It’s so helpful. I have to stay on top of things if I want to continue to travel (I’m gone at least every other Friday-Monday night, and this month it’s 3 out of 4 weekends). So far it’s doable when I stick to that schedule. And it’s kinda fun making it. I’m a nerd.

Okay, time for work! Our new kid stopped in for a visit yesterday and starts today! His mom was really worried he might be aggressive toward us. We were all nonchalant. Bring it, tiny 2-year-old.